As many of you know, I am a (HAH) Hearts at Home Blogger. Each month we join together for a “blog hop” on the third Thursday about a specific topic or challenge. This month’s challenge is to share a favorite recipe.

I thought long and hard about this, because some of my recipes are a family secret, you know! But I came across one that is not only a family favorite, super yummy, but also one that I don’t mind sharing the secret with all of you! So get in touch with your inner Cajun cook and try out my version of . . .

Jambalaya

Ingredients

1 lb. cooked chicken*

2 cups water

1 ½ tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/2 lb. ground sausage**

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

Dash garlic

1 cup uncooked rice

1 med. onion diced

1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies

In a dutch oven, brown sausage, breaking it up into bite sized chunks. Reserve 1 tablespoon of oil in bottom of dutch oven. Remove sausage to a paper towel to absorb excess oil. In same dutch oven, place chicken, onion, salt, pepper in two cups of water, bringing to a boil and then simmering. Return sausage to dutch oven. Add rice, tomatoes, and the rest of spices. Cook until rice is tender. Enjoy!

I hope you try this out. Then come on back and tell me what you and your family thinks!

*Shrimp can be substituted for chicken

**sliced sausage links can be substituted for ground sausage

If you are part of the blog hop, click on Mr Linky below

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to add your blog entry to Heart’s at Home’s Third Thursday Thoughts Blog Hop…

Comments on: "Sharing a Family Secret!" (2)

  1. I look forward to trying it!

  2. I need to get a dutch oven! I think I’ll have to put one on my Christmas list. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I love one-pot meals!

Leave a Reply

