People look to me as a counselor to help them resolve conflicts in their lives, and I want to help them! But there’s one thing that has to happen for progress to begin—a willingness to admit the problem. You might think, “Well, duh! Isn’t that what the client is doing when they come to see you, Beth?” And I would say, sometimes “yes” and sometimes “no.”

It takes great courage to admit a problem and leave it out in the open for examination and challenge. But unless the client is willing to tell me what the real problem is, I can’t help them.

It’s like going to a doctor with a broken leg and telling him that your stomach hurts. Maybe you do have an upset stomach, but the real problem is your leg! So you walk limp out the door with a prescription for Nexium, when you really need a cast.

God is the same way. He doesn’t force himself into our lives and demand that we tell him our problems. But very often, if we don’t turn to Him, He’s the first one we blame for not fixing our problem(s).

I’ll admit it, I’ve resisted God. If you want to look at a post during one of my resistant moments check out “Boxing with God.” But I’m so glad that I’ve dropped my “dukes” and leaned into His strong embrace. It has made all the difference!

Every single day He’s teaching me things as I rely on Him. It’s not easy. To tell you the truth, it can be down-right uncomfortable to deal with these painful lessons and revelations. But at least I’m getting what needs to be healed, healed!

God is a gentleman. He’s patient and will not force Himself into the problems of your life. And He’s not like a busy-body who “rescues” you from troubles that you don’t even think or know you have. And when we finally do turn to Him with our pain, sometimes His prescription seems to hurt almost as much as the cure. But . . .

He knows what He is doing! He is the Great Physician.

It may take more time and possibly more pain than we want to go through. But just think of how terrible it would be if you kept your “broken leg” without going through the pain of treating it properly. You’d experience ten times more pain and difficulty in keeping that crooked leg—aye, Gimpy?!

So, go ahead – make an appointment with him today. After all, the Doctor is always in!

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

Comments on: "Are You Wondering Why God isn’t Helping You?" (14)

  1. Another post to start my thinker up, Beth. I come from a background where I never developed healthy boundaries, and and having to reprogram (or flat out LEARN) a lot of relationship skills. I’ve never viewed God as a ‘gentleman’. Due to feelings of being neglected as a child, I sort of have this expectation that if a person wasn’t forcing their way in, that they didn’t care. If I’m not pursued, I get my feelings hurt. I spend time waiting on God, when I GUESS, He’s waiting on me.
    Thanks for the post,
    Gimpy-Jean

  2. Very insightful, very wise… But I wonder how often we don’t admit because we don’t realise. That stomach hurts so much we don’t notice the leg?

  3. nice…try that…he wont force us to own up to our problems…but when we finally lay them at his feet what freedom we can find…

  4. Thanks to both of you – Kimberly and Kati. You both bring up important points.

    Kimberly, God is a gentleman, but that doesn’t mean he leaves it solely up to us to pursue him. I think he “woos” each one of us, but, like a gentleman, never “forces” his way into our lives, especially when we hold him at arms length.

    Kati, you’re also right that we often don’t realize. In fact, I almost mentioned that very phenomenon–(not noticing the leg for the pain in our stomach). But I believe God works with what we bring to him to help us discover what the real problem is. The issue I’m speaking of here, is withholding something from God that we are aware of but afraid he won’t or can’t heal it.

  5. Cool analogy. Very asture. I guess you could say that I spent years in the waiting room refusing to actually take Him my problems. Believing the lies that He couldn’t or wouldn’t actually heal me. I had to be willing to let that lie be challenged and to hurt so much that I needed Him above all else before I would let down my guards and walk into the exam room. And He was, is so so GOOD. I want a stronger word but I don’t have one. He continues to simply be the definition of goodness.

  6. yeah….that should be astute, someday I will learn to proofread.

  7. Beth,

    Again another great and timely post. I guess God is really trying to get my attention. I have my own share of health issues right now and don’t have answers and they are becoming disabling at times. I feel like I don’t have a life right now or what I am struggling with is my life. I want to do so much more and tired of putting my life on hold. I just want all the pain and suffering to end. I want to get on with my life but everyone keeps saying I need Radical Acceptance.

  8. great post, and well said. I have a friend who always says, “If you can stand the pain, God will pull you through it” and then that eye-rolling cliche of “no pain, no gain” 🙂
    blessings to you.
    Sheila

  9. I love your post! I often don’t even realize what I am feeling and why… after many some counseling and groups I have worked through many issues and have begun to bloom and grow and feel deeply. My main prayer every day and scripture is Psalm 139: 23-24 “23 Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. 24 See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” You are so right… being willing to step out of denial and say these are my issues to myself, God and a person I trust helped me deal with abuse, pain, hurt, and codependency. Not that I still don’t have issues of dealing with them.

  10. i love this. it’s so true… when we come to God, we need to be utterly honest about our sin, our problems, before he is able to work in us… thank you for this, friend.

  11. So true. It’s not hard to understand why we’re afraid to reveal our secrets to other people … but why we’re reluctant to tell God (as if He doesn’t already know our hearts) doesn’t make sense to me. But I know it happens to me.

    Thanks for this.

  12. I’m here from Bonnie’s today – could just have easily come here from Emily’s 🙂 And I’m with you – God doesn’t barge in the front door – normally – but he does discipline. I’ve known of this first hand. And I know that if there is something amiss in my spiritual life, it’s far better for me to address it myself than him. He’s not much for the “gentle” more for the “effective”. And lately I’ve been unintentionally pretending with Him – just noticed that – thank you – I’ve been pretending I’m mot worried, scared, doubting – pretending with God – not really smart. SO I’ll be visiting the doctor today and I’ll mention my leg. Thank you for this today – I hearted it lots – and God Bless and keep you and all of yours.

  13. selesha71@yahoo.com said:

    Like this. Thanks!!!

  14. Could you please my August 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm , please? It shows up my e-mail address. I don’t want to put my e-mail address public.

Leave a Reply

