I must admit right up front—I hate to wait!

Since waiting apparently increases success in life, I hate to think what that says about me. Uhh…let’s not go there!

So what do you think? Do you believe that there’s any truth to the idea that learning to wait well leads to success?

Believe it or not, this idea finds credence in a research study done with four year olds and marshmallows. The researchers put one four year old at a time in a room with a marshmallow on the table in front of him or her. Then the researcher told the child that if he waited to eat the marshmallow until the researcher came back, he could have two marshmallows.

The experiment was repeated with several children. Some ate them right away. Some studied the marshmallows, but eventually succumbed to the temptation before the researcher returned. And some distracted themselves long enough to wait until the researcher returned and were rewarded with a double treat!

Now that’s not where the study ended. The researchers followed up on the academic path of these children years later. Not only did they find that the children who waited had greater academic successes, but their SAT scores were over two hundred points higher than the other kids who could not wait.

I don’t know whether this study convinces you that waiting is a building block of success or not, but I do know that the Bible asks us to wait. Here are just a few examples:

“I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry.” Psalm 40:1 (NLT)

“Yes, LORD, walking in the way of your laws, we wait for you; your name and renown are the desire of our hearts.” Isaiah 26:8 (NIV)

“Lord, be kind to us. We have waited for your help. Give us strength every morning. Save us when we are in trouble. Isaiah 33:2 (NCV)

“Yet those who wait for the Lord, will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.” Isaiah 40:31 (NASB)

Maybe waiting is something God wants us to do more of. And maybe, just maybe, God can hardly wait until the day that He gets to give us that sweet extra marshmallow at the end of our long wait.

So tell me . . .

What are you having trouble waiting on right now?

Or

What successes have you had because you waited on God?

Comments on: "Waiting Well Increases Success in Life" (5)

  1. Beth-I loved this one! Thanks for sharing the study.

    Pam

  2. Ah, this is an excellent point! I’m not good at waiting either. In fact, I can become downright crabby and impatient. After the fact, I realize that I’ve been a horrible baby about waiting for God to put things in order for my life! I’m not good in waiting on life sitations… But, yes, I have experienced that good things really DO come to those who wait! Thank you for sharing!

  3. Thanks to both of you – Peggy and Pam – for commenting. And it’s good to I’m not the only one who has trouble waiting on God–or waiting on anything for that matter!

    I know that I’ve had many blessings in life because I’ve waited on God. It’s awfully hard to see it in the middle of that waiting. But it’s so “sweet” when I’m on the other side, and not only am I blessed for waiting, but I’m proud of myself for being obedient to God!

  4. Hi Beth!

    I could not pass up reading this one with the study of f-y-o!!! I really wish I knew how Ethan would do …. might have to conduct my own study!

    Seriously, my whole week has been waiting …. for this vacation to finally BEGIN! I don’t know if it ever will, and I feel this tug on my heart that God is trying to teach me something through this WAITING for things to improve.

    At the very least, I know I will be home-sweet-home soon!

    Love you!!!! ~Stace

  5. Stacey, I’m so sorry to hear that your vacation has been filled with sickness and more sickness. It’s like the puke train just keeps up-chugging down the track of your life!

    But seriously, I’ll pray that the “puke-train” will get derailed and the good times will roll for the last few days of your vacation. And in the meantime, meditate on God’s blessings, like your sweet hubby and super cute baby boys! (Not to mention, new friends like me!)

    Thanks for weighing in!

Leave a Reply

