Resisting or Resting?

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before but I have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Generally, my condition is well-controlled by the medication I take. But I have this rogue knee that gives me trouble almost constantly.

When I was 13 I had surgery to remove a torn cartilage in one of my knees. Decades ago, that was the way doctors handled that kind of problem. Nowadays they’ve realized that they need to leave a whole lot more of that natural cushion in our knees than they first thought was needed. So not only do I struggle with RA in that knee, but bone on bone, osteoarthritis as well.

So I must rest.

In fact, I think that is one of the primary reasons God allowed me to have RA—just so I would slow down every once in a while!

But there are so many wonderful things that God teaches me and develops in me when I rest—things that I would miss if I were still going a hundred miles an hour! Of course, I get frustrated whenever it flares, but maybe I need to think of it as a blessing in disguise. Maybe God is gently nudging me to slow down, sit beside Him in green pastures and rest. After all, that is where He is able to restore my soul.

Is there something in your life that God is using to get you to slow down?

Are you resisting it or resting in it?

Take a moment to meditate on this familiar passage. Imagine yourself resting with your Savior as you sit beside a babbling brook. Ask Him to restore your soul today.

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”  Psalm 23 (NIV)

Today’s Post is linked to:

FaithBarista_Rest2JamBadge

Comments on: "Resisting or Resting?" (9)

  1. Lovely, Beth-just what I needed! Reminder to slow down…this has been the busiest February….
    thanks for the reminders!

  2. Thanks, Pam. It encourages me to know that it was a good reminder for you. That’s what I’m always hoping happens–that it’s a word that someone needs to hear.

  3. Thank you, Beth. Systemic lupus rather than RA is my primary chronic illness. It has been flaring since last summer, and my body and soul are complaining about the enforced inactivity.

    Your post encourages me back toward contentment and rest (not just inactivity). I’m glad I clicked over from Holy Experience today. God bless you!

  4. I’d like to read more regarding “resisting”. There was a time in my life, where I TRULY needed rest and healing, and God provided that for me in both time and people. But I think I’ve milked the “resting” cow dry- and am now just resistant to anything. I have come to realize I have two speeds- either running around like a mad lady unable to even sleep, let alone really rest, or I do absolutely nothing. I get overwhelmed in one extreme and start slipping down the depression hill in the other. I need to get to a place of balance were I can be involved without being obsessive.

  5. Tinuviel, (I don’t know if that’s your real name, but wanted to address this to you specifically).

    I’m so glad that I was able to encourage you in your lupus to not feel that “down time” is a waste. It’s a struggle to stay positive, I know. But I will pray that you and I both can! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your story.

  6. And Kimberly,

    I’m so glad that you are open enough to share about your struggle. I’ve seen that pattern before in others. In other words, you’re not alone in that tendency. I hope and will pray that you get some answers to why that’s occurring in your life–and most importantly, “how” to break free.

    Thanks soooo much for weighing in! You’re a true blogging friend!

  7. This is so me! I’m bone on bone in my right knee with osteoarthritis in both of them. I ruptured my Achilles tendon in October and am still recovering. I resist slowing down. I don’t want to think that I can’t do it all, that I can’t keep up, that I’m less than adequate (in my own estimation). I’m trying to learn to rest . . . it’s a lot of work and a lot of trust. Thanks for the reminder to just rest and be healed.

  8. I’m here from Ann’s – It’s Sunday now and I’m really late to your Wednesday post – but first I wanted to read all the thank you posts – then started yesterday reading the Walk with him Wednesday posts – and so I just got to yours today. Sorry I’m late. (◠‿◠)

    Hmmm – an illness to slow down. I don’t sleep – well some – but not anywhere near enough to function normally. I can’t operate on the same schedule as everyone else. Spurts followed by rest – as far as my body allows – then rest. Sounds like the same for you.

    Thank you for this today.

    God Bless and keep you and all of yours

  9. Sheryl and Craig, I must say that it’s comforting to know that I don’t suffer alone with my problem. There are others out there who can relate. I’m glad my words brought encouragement to both of you in your struggles. You certainly have encouraged me by weighing in and sharing!

Leave a Reply

