I’ve often struggled to understand God’s will. And once I’ve felt like I’ve understood it, very often I’ve had to go through some really hard and scary places. Those times are hard enough, but even harder are the times when I go through what feels like a place of failure. It’s at those times that I question if I’ve remained within God’s will.

From a practical point of view, I know that it has been in the tough times that I’ve learned the most. Perhaps that was all God was trying to accomplish in that situation.

I guess we all want that “happy ending” or that “miraculous event,” so that we can proclaim confidently that we were a part of a “God thing!” Today, I’m questioning that line of logic. It sounds all nice and poetic, but is it theologically sound?

Before I move on to pose the question to you, allow me to clarify. First of all, I’m not saying that God’s will has to go smoothly. Second of all, I’m not saying God’s will has to have trouble.

I’m just wondering, if we remain in God’s will, unhindered by our sin or other’s sin, should God’s will look like a success story–at least on some level?

After all, when I look look at the people in the Bible, I see many examples when they encountered difficulties, while being smack dab in the middle of God’s will. But were those difficulties they encountered a result of their sins or the sins of others, rather than God throwing them a curve ball?

What do you think?

If it’s God’s will, do you think it should always turn out “successfully” in our lives?

If so, what does being “successful” involve?

Comments on: "Is God’s Will Always a Success Story?" (5)

  1. Well, He tells us that the plans He has for us are to prosper and not fail. So, I tend to think that yes, He does want each of us to be successes, but it’s us that fall short. I know we cannot help what we are born into, but we can help where we go in life. *hugs*

  2. It is not our success that matters. It is God’s. It is His will after all… not ours… and God’s will is always successful for His own purposes and desires regardless of circumstance.

    Romans 8 and Philippians 3 clearly explain that in order to obtain glory (success i guess), we must first suffer. For Christ did not accomplish his task without suffering…

    The question is too often what is God’s will for my life… my life should not be the subject. It should rather be where does my life fit in with God’s will.

    Just my thoughts…

  3. I agree with what both of you have said and thank you for weighing in.

    To you, Jordan: I just feel that there are choices we must make to follow God’s will or our own will. Sometimes it is hard to decipher between the two, especially if they both look and sound good or godly.

    I guess I’m referring to God’s permissive will versus his perfect will. I want to be responding to God in a way that puts me in his “perfect will,” but I don’t always get out of the way enough to do that.

    So if I’ve chosen to do something my way, is that the reason something turns out to be an apparent failure? Or is it that I have chosen God’s will, but I don’t see all the ways God is working in what appears, in my finite vision, to be a failure?

  4. Good discussion. I struggle with this too sometimes. For what it is worth, I don’t think that God plans for us to fail. I think He allows us to fail sometimes but He promises to work for the good in all things (including our failures). Also, in His infinite wisdom, He is likely maximizing our “failures” (what we would consider failures) for the good in other’s lives too. I think A.W. Tozer said that God moves in a way so that the maximum benefit will be had by the most people (or something like that). The problem for me most times is that i am selfish and want to be able to see “what’s in it for me”. i need to be forgiven for that everyday. instead of trying to figure out all of the details of what God’s will is for me in life, i often have to keep it simpler and remind myself that while i will never be privy to His whole plan, i usually, if i am being honest, have a pretty good idea of what God’s will is NOT (i.e. any number of sins or bad habits or unhealthy ways of dealing with things, etc. ) anyway, praise God that He knows that we are formed out of dust and that He never fails! Hallelujah!

  5. […] weeks ago, I posed the question, “Is God’s Will Always a Success Story?” I posed that question because I think there’s something inherent in each one of us that not only […]

Leave a Reply

