Where is God in Your Problem?

Do you ever feel like God isn’t responding to your prayers? Maybe you’ve prayed for months, even years about a matter, and you feel like God hasn’t answered or given you the answer you want.

It’s hard to trust God in those times. I know, because I’ve had many of those times in my life. In fact, I’m dealing with God’s silence in one area of my life even today. And I’ve learned that when I focus on the silence, I grow frustrated and impatient. But when I focus on the times God has broken through with an answer, then I become patient and encouraged as I wait. So here’s what I do:

I take a “G.P.S” (God’s Perfect Surprise) reading of my past.

  • I remember back to when I asked God to resolve a conflict I had with someone over where our recovery group would meet. So I committed to pray for 30 days on the matter and “G.P.S” was right on time—bringing a new location that wasn’t even known about when the conflict arose.
  • I remember back to when I prayed for God to send a prayer and accountability partner into my life and “G.P.S” arrived months later with just the right person who eventually turned into one of my best friends!
  • I remember back to when my husband was out of a job and our money was running out in two more days. That’s when “G.P.S” kicked in and we received an unexpected check in the mail the very next day.  (This kind of thing happened a lot during those dry times!)

I’m not saying that God will answer your prayer in the way you want or expect—hence, the “surprise.” In fact in my life, most of God’s answers have come in small, incremental responses over a period of weeks, months, and sometimes even years that eventually lead to what I recognized as a full-blown answer to my prayer.

I’m also not saying that he will answer in the time frame that you feel is necessary—but I am saying God is never late. In my life, he has always provided and always answered. And he’s usually answered in a way that I never saw coming.  Call me crazy, but I have a hunch that he’s working the same surprising way in your life, as well!

So the next time you feel like you haven’t heard from God or don’t know where he is – Begin to track “G.P.S” from your past and you’ll be reminded and encouraged that God is faithful and always on-time!

“The Lord hears his people when they call to him for help. He rescues them from all their troubles. The Lord is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.” Psalms 34:17-18 (NLT)

“I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.” Psalms 40:1-2 (NLT)

Share

Comments on: "Where is God in Your Problem?" (2)

  1. Perfect timing…thank you, Beth…and thank you, God! 🙂

  2. Thanks to you, Tori, for you comment. And in case you didn’t know, that prayer and accountability partner turned best friend is you!

Leave a Reply

