Chillax and Know . . .

I noticed a few weeks ago that one of my FB friends commented that she didn’t quite know what it meant to, “Be still and know God.” So since I often look for inspiration from all areas of my life, I wanted to write about that very question. But before I do, let’s look directly at this verse and a few others just before it in chapter 46 of Psalms:

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging . . . The Lord Almighty is with us . . .

‘Be still, and know that I am God’ . . .” *

I don’t know about you or where you live, but I haven’t experienced any major earthquakes or witnessed any mountains falling into the sea in my neck of the woods. Life may be hard at times, but so far, it’s not been catastrophic for me.

But even if it was falling apart, God would still be with me—with us. In other words, if God can keep us safe in the worst of circumstances, then he can certainly help us with the small matters that plague us from day to day.

So then what does it mean to “Be still”? I think it means to stop striving and controlling. I think it means to surrender. I think it means to trust God instead of trusting myself or my circumstances.

Recently, I had a friend jokingly tell me to, “chillax.” I’d never heard of that expression before (although according to the online dictionary it has been around since 1999!). The term, as you might guess, is a combination of the words “chill” and “relax.”

I think the word “chillax” is very descriptive of what God wants to say to each one of us. If I were to translate this passage into modern day language, maybe God would say something like this,

“Chillax my peeps! Trust me, I got this.”

All humor aside, God just wants you and me to know that he has it all under control. In fact, I think that every time we worry or fear, we’re actually insulting his power and goodness. So the next time you feel yourself giving in to anxiety just “chillax” in God’s mighty embrace. The mountains may fall, but if you fall, he’ll be there to pick you up!

*Psalm 46:1-3, 7a, and 10a (NIV)

Today’s Post is linked to:

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

Share

Comments on: "Chillax and Know . . ." (2)

  1. I love it! Sometimes it can be so hard to sit back and know HE is in control… but HE is! I think you are right… HE is telling us to chillax! Great post!

  2. Thanks so much, Jennifer. We all need a little reminder every now and then–that He’s God and we’re not!

Leave a Reply

