Reality Shows

“As a face is reflected in water, so the heart reflects the real person.” Proverbs 27:19 (NLT)

I read this verse this morning. It’s a verse that is packed with so much truth, and we often don’t even realize it or stop to ponder it. Instead, we nod our heads and move on to hunt for other more profound sounding truths or simply settle for interesting tidbits that distract us in our day.

As a counselor, I’ve seen this truth displayed in front of me time and again. And when it does, it screams at me loudly, although no one else may hear it. A client will come to me thinking that they can pull the wool over my eyes, their spouse’s eyes, or any one else who might be near and dear to them.

However, most people can sense it. It might be that you feel that something just isn’t right about what the person says or how he/she acts, but you can’t quite put your finger on what it is. I deal with people like that so much that I think my senses are heightened to it.

Don’t get me wrong. Just because I can spot this kind of “hiding” doesn’t mean that I am free of it in my life or the delusion that it creates. It’s just that I’ve done a lot of hard work, soul searching, confessing and surrendering to get to the point of realizing I need to be real about who I am. And, yes, I still want to hide my bad side every now and then. In fact, since I’ve launched my new blog, messymarriage, I feel that desire to run and hide more than ever.

But I know that redemption and freedom come from being authentic about my humanness, my brokenness. So I press forward toward the goal.

If there’s one thing that I hope you get from this post, it’s this: Don’t think you can fool anyone because, as the title of the book I still hope to complete says, reality shows. And, and by the way, hiding doesn’t work either. You may think that no one can see beyond your mask. But if you relate to anyone for very long, they will see through the mask to who you really are.

They may be confused by it.

They may feel rejected by you, and not know why.

All or most of your relationships may have conflict, disharmony or distance because of it.

But until you decide to be real with yourself, with others and with God, you won’t live the life that God so desperately wants to live through you. You won’t be able to find healing and hope.

My prayer for you is that you would trust God enough to be real about who you are!

Are you up for the challenge?

Share

Comments on: "Reality Shows" (2)

  1. Donna Bragdon said:

    Excellent job, Beth! I need to print “Reality Shows” out to ponder it. There’s so much I’m sure I’m missing first go around. I thought I was through hiding, but now I’m not so sure. (Translate: I’m obviously still hiding!) Love you!

  2. Thanks for saying, Donna. Sounds as if God is using this post in a timely way in your life. That’s what I always hope and pray will happen for those who read my blog. Love you too!

Leave a Reply

