I Put My Boxing Gloves Down

Recently I was resisting God in an area of my life. I wrote about it in my post, Boxing with God. It took me quite a long time to finally decide to drop my guard and surrender to him.

At that point, I made the decision to do whatever God wanted me and my family to do. I realized that he would get us through any challenge or circumstance as long as my family and I, in particular, yielded to him.

It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do in my life, but once I was on the surrender side of the equation, things started to happen—things that I never expected or believed were around the corner.

Since that day (October 9th, 2010), God has allowed not only blessings, but also changes that are hard to completely understand at this point. In fact, I’ve felt like I’ve been in limbo in many areas of my life for at least two years now.  But now that I’ve finally decided to surrender this area to God, he has initiated movement in my life–going from zero to 100 in a millisecond! In fact, it’s a little hard to catch my breath!

As many of you already know, one of those changes is the transfer of our foster daughter to another home. It is a tough situation and we are praying that God will be her ultimate parent in the days, months and years to come.

One great blessing in our time with her has been her decision to receive Christ as her personal Savior back in July. I believe that was a genuine decision on her part and I pray that, “He who began a good work . . . will carry it on to completion” in her life. We hope that she will stay in touch and we will be able to see God’s completion in her life.

Another change and blessing for me in this past month is what I believe is a God-given vision for a new ministry, my new blog – Messy Marriage. God had given me the idea for a “Messy Marriage” book years ago, but not until last month did I think about beginning a ministry to those with messy marriages.

I hope that you will visit this new site and perhaps subscribe or become a follower. I hope to use my blog as the beginning platform to meet the needs of those who struggle in their marriages. I have a heart to help people who are in the trenches of a messy marriage or who simply want to make their marriage better and stronger.

This blog will continue biblical and psychological posts, but my posts regarding the marriage relationship will only be found from now on at Messy Marriage. Please pray for me as I begin this mission (with the help of my husband on occasion).

I believe that God uses every circumstance in our lives to give us understanding on how to help others with the hurt they are experiencing. And I’m thanking God for the opportunity to turn the messes in my marriage into lessons and blessings for others who struggle.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 (NIV)

Today’s Post is linked to:

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

Share

 

Leave a Reply

