Sometimes people go through such tough times that I think the best way I can encourage them is to share some Bible verses that have meant a lot to me. For those who are struggling–I hope these help you to remember God’s faithfulness and love for you.

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” –Psalm 34:18 (NIV)

“We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life.  Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death.  But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God.” –2 Corinthians 1:8b-9 (NIV)

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” –Philippians 4:4-8 (NIV)

“The Lord is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the stronghold of my life—of whom shall I be afraid?  When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh, when my enemies and my foes attack me, they stumble and fall.  Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.” –Psalm 27:1-3 (NIV)

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.” Psalm 34:8 (NIV)

“But He (God) said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” –2 Cor. 12:9 (NIV)

“In the day of my trouble I will call to you, for you will answer me.” –Psalm 86:7 (NIV)

“No test or temptation that comes your way is beyond the course of what others have had to face. All you need to remember is that God will never let you down; he’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to help you come through it.” –1 Cor. 10:13 (MsgB)

“Dear brothers and sisters, whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy.” –James 1:2 (NLT)

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. [18] So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” –2 Cor. 4:17-18 (NIV)

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress. And let us run with endurance the race that God has set before us. [2] We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from start to finish. He was willing to die a shameful death on the cross because of the joy he knew would be his afterward. Now he is seated in the place of highest honor beside God’s throne in heaven. Think about all he endured when sinful people did such terrible things to him, so that you don’t become weary and give up.” –Hebrews 12:1-3 (NLT)

Share

Comments on: "Discouraged? Read This . . ." (2)

  1. Thank you, Beth. 🙂

    LY,
    Tori

  2. No problem!

    LY2,

    Beth

Leave a Reply

