Boxing with God

I’ve been resisting God in a certain area of my life. I feel like I’m wearing boxing gloves and I’m stupid enough to take God on. So I dance around the ring like I’m Muhammad Ali who, “Floats like a butterfly and stings like a bee.” And the ugly truth is, I feel just about as invincible and grandiose.

But what if I realized just who I’m taking a swing at?

Consider this picture –

I’m ready. I wait for my opponent with sweat pouring down my brow. I can’t wait to get at him. And then I see him step into the ring like a Servant who –

“. . . grew up in the Lord’s presence like a tender green shoot, like a root in dry ground.”

He is not who I thought I was fighting, but I ignore that fact and take one good look at him—really stare him down and see

“There’s nothing beautiful or majestic about his appearance, nothing to attract [me] to him. He was despised and rejected— a man of sorrows, acquainted with deepest grief. [I] turned [my] back on him and looked the other way. He was despised, and [I] did not care.”

Doesn’t matter. I give him a left jab to his gut. He flinches, but still he doesn’t pull away –

“. . . it was [my] weakness he carried; it was [my] sorrows that weighed him down . . . he was pierced for [my] rebellion, crushed for [my] sins. He was beaten so [I] could be whole. He was whipped so [I] could be healed.”

I turn a blind eye to his pain. I’m only concerned about my own, since I have . . .

“. . . left God’s paths to follow [my] own.”

But no matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to ignore what he has done –

“He never said a word. He was led like a lamb to the slaughter. And as a sheep is silent before the shearers, he did not open his mouth. Unjustly condemned, he was led away.”

But my pain is still more important, so I come at him—punching, pounding, pulverizing. Never realizing –

“ . . . it was the Lord’s good plan to crush him and cause him grief. Yet when his life is made an offering for sin, he will have many descendants. He will enjoy a long life, and the Lord’s good plan will prosper in his hands. When he sees all that is accomplished by his anguish, he will be satisfied.”

But am I satisfied? No way! I feel justified in rebelling—in wrestling with God—even though –

“He bore the sins of many and interceded for rebels.”

. . . like me.

When will I wake up to what I’m doing and have done? When will I realize that my pain is nothing compared to his? When will I wake up to the reality of the immense pain I’m causing him? When will I surrender?

What about you? Are you boxing with God?

If you have or if you are, tell me about it. Maybe you’ll be the one to help me drop my gloves.

(Excerpts taken from the 53rd chapter of Isaiah, NLT)

Today’s post is linked to Tuesdays Unwrapped at Chattingatthesky blog

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

Share

Comments on: "Boxing with God" (5)

  1. What a perfect picture of what it is like to fight our Redeemer. Lately I have been in the ring with Him also. He’s calling me to leave the desires of my heart at His feet and surrender and trust Him with whatever the outcome is. I’m tired, dry, and homesick. I’m also a little bit scared that His will may not be the one I want. Even though in my head I know that His will is always perfect; my heart isn’t lined up with my head yet. I’m praying. I want to yield, but I also want to fight for my will.

    Praying for you.

  2. The only thing I can say is that it is only in looking back that I can see where He was taking me… in the midst of it, life and it’s choices can be frightening, and I battle Him and carry my worry like a prize.

    Somehow, (as Chris Rice so eloquently sings) the past always seems safer, cause at least we know we made it…

    You’ll make it. He can take it. But the second you put down those gloves, He’s going to grab your hand and run you to where it’s safest, where His will for your life, this moment, can be accomplished.

    I’ve prayed for you, and I’m so thankful you shared your heart here, for I am battling Him, too, and I needed the reminder to speak True Things… 🙂

  3. Mrs. Sojourner,

    I’m sad that you are struggling too. But I’m glad that you could resonate with my feelings–“Misery loves company,” you know! And the fact that you are praying for me comforts me so much! Not to mention the fact that it amazes me that I can have someone who’s in West Africa find out about my spiritual battle and offer up a prayer thousands of miles away! BTW, I will pray for you too in your “battle”whatever it might be.

    Elise,

    You shared some profound insights that God wanted me to hear. I thank you for being his instrument of grace and encouragement. I will pray for you too in your own battle. So glad that my reminder to be real and raw was something you needed to hear!

    Thanks to you both!

  4. This post reminds me of the song Carman sang called “the Champion”. Have you heard it? The devil is fighting with Jesus in a boxing ring of sorts. It’s a beautiful illustration of Christ’s love for us…and HIS role as Champion. Always. 🙂

    I box with God sometimes, too. It’s not pretty. I’m so thankful for His grace and mercy in the midst of it all!

    And as always, I’m inspired by your post, my friend. Keep ’em coming!

  5. Hey Donna,

    Yes, I remember that song. It was very powerful.

    And, it’s always good to know others have been where I am and can relate. I don’t feel quite as alone or “odd.”

    I feel like this post is just another step for me in the right direction. Thanks for your kind words and for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

