In my last post, someone pointed out that I described how we get our Control Freaky on, but I gave no instructions on how to get our Control Freaky Off. So I would like to dive into that subject this time around.

First of all, I’ve looked and looked and have been unable to locate that particular switch. Now I’m not a gadget guru like my son, Graham, so I might be missing it. But I’m also very persistent and have looked in every possible nook and cranny, and alas, I’ve come up empty. I hate to be the one to break it to you (and me), but as far as I can tell, there is no switch for turning our Control Freaky off.

Second, to truly get your Control Freaky off, you have to quit looking for “7 Easy Steps for Getting You Control Freaky Off.” The only steps I know of that will help us to get our Control Freaky off are the ones that lead us to the foot of the cross.

The reason Control Freaks become Control Freaks is because they want to bring an end to the pain, suffering and loss they are feeling. Control Freaks think that the only way to avoid pain is to either try to fix a situation or run from a situation. And by the way, neither one of those strategies avoids the pain for very long. In fact, it often works the opposite way.

As Christians, I think we believe that if we turn to God he will give us the peace and good feelings we are looking for in our own personal trials. We think that if we seek God long and hard enough he will lift us up above the storm. But, if we look at scripture, very often God’s plan is to walk with us through the storm.

Jesus is a perfect example of accepting the trial, knowing it would be excruciatingly painful, but doing what God had asked him to do anyway.

Consider these examples:

  1. When Jesus fasted in the desert for 40 days and 40 nights, he was starving, but he accepted that pain was a part of his mission. (Matthew 4:1-4)
  2. When Jesus was praying in the Garden of Gethsemane just before his crucifixion, he prayed, “. . . Take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” (Luke 22:42 NIV) Jesus didn’t feel good about facing untold torture and death, but he knew what God was calling him to do, and did it out of love for you and me.
  3. Ultimately, Jesus’ best example was at the cross. I’m sure he didn’t feel good, as his body was ripped and broken. He didn’t feel positive as the weight from hanging on the cross slowly suffocated him. He didn’t feel strengthened when his heavenly Father turned away unable to watch him as he bore the sins of the world, yet Jesus surrendered anyway. (Matthew 27:46)

Our feelings about our situation can be powerful and cause us to go into a fight or flight mode, but God calls us to a surrender mode. And even though we may not feel better or see our situation instantly turn around, God calls us to live by faith, not by our feelings.

“We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God.”         2 Corinthians 1:8-9 (NIV)

“Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10a (NIV)

Share

Leave a Reply

