I give A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller an A-.

Writing a book review on Don Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is tricky because I don’t agree with everything he asserts or concludes.  In fact, it seems at times he revels in stepping over conventional Christian lines.  But Don has such a unique way of communicating that I find myself putting aside my concerns and like a tourist going along for fun-filled ride through his wonder-world.

Years ago, I read Don’s first memoir, Blue Like Jazz. For the most part, I found it, in parts, inspirational and overall very entertaining.  The same can be said for A Million Miles, however, I think I appreciate this effort just a tad bit more.

First of all, this book covers a lot of ground, literally and figuratively.  Don starts out with a dilemma.  His first memoir was so successful that a couple of movie producers wanted to make a movie out of his life loosely based on his book, Blue Like Jazz.  The only problem was that his life needed to be jazzed up! The reality that his life is boring and mundane sends Don on a quest for meaning and purpose.

You will find that this book covers everything from Don’s unfinished business with a father who abandoned him after his parent’s divorce, to some profound ponderings on life and relationships, to a crash course on the important elements of story for any aspiring writer, to discovering what he had been missing in the story of his real life.  He is amazing at weaving all of these elements together with precision and gut-level honesty.  I feel like his writing style is mesmerizing—like listening to a good friend tell you his deepest, darkest secrets.  I read it in just three or four days, which is rather fast for me.

If you need to let go of past hurts, move forward, or simply want to make a difference, no matter what you think of the guy and his philosophy of life or Christianity, this book will give you a lot to chew on, and in one way or another, inspire you to live a better life.

Share

Comments on: "Don Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years – Book Review" (2)

  1. Hey there! I was very interested to read your take on his new book as I’ve been meaning to read Blue Like Jazz for a year now. 🙂

    I’ll have to read both of them now!

  2. Yeah, both books are good reads. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

