Have you ever heard of the movie, “My Fair Lady?”  I know that there are those of you who are so young that a movie made in 1964 doesn’t even register on your radar! And if it’s a musical, many a male in my life turns glassy eyed and starts groping for the remote!  But indulge me for just a moment as I give you a quick run-down about this classic film.

First of all, My Fair Lady won an incredible eight academy awards, including best picture, best director and best actor in a leading role played by Rex Harrison.  Of course, the darling Audrey Hepburn who played Eliza Doolittle, the “Fair Lady” in the movie, practically stole the show but didn’t even get a nomination.  So I can’t help but wonder if she might have felt, in her heart of hearts, that somehow that just wasn’t fair.  Irony of ironies had occurred.  “My Fair Lady” wasn’t treated quite so fair!

Are you ever tempted to focus on what seems unfair in your life?  I think God doesn’t want us to get bogged down by “the glass is half empty mentality.”  Ironically, fairy tales are not about what’s fair but rather what is unreal.  So why do we allow those unrealistic childhood stories to hi-jack our adult lives?  The Bible boldly reminds us that “we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us” (Romans 8:37).  But many times we let unfair situations steal our joy and end up looking and sounding like “more than a victim, than more than a conqueror!”

Here’s a thought, what if we played “F.A.I.R.?”  In other words, playing fair is: Fully Accepting Imperfect Realities. This acrostic implies that there will be imperfect realities. In fact, the very fact that God says we are more than conquerors implies that we will face battles in this life—unrelenting, terribly tragic, completely confusing and totally unfair issues in life.  Life is messy.  Life on earth is full of pain and countless miserable realities and injustices.  But even with all these troubles, we can rest assured that God is for us.  I know that every single difficulty or trial I have faced, God has lovingly used in my life to grow me up in Him.  In other words, I have a hard head and need a lot of unfair experiences in order to learn to trust God more!

So the next time you are tempted to question why something negative is happening to you or to think, “This just isn’t fair!” Pray this little prayer:

“Lord, I want to Fully Accept Imperfect Realities in my life, so that I can become more like you—a Conqueror!”

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose . . . No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” Romans 8:28 and 37 (NIV)

Comments on: "Is the unfairness of life getting you down?" (3)

  1. Thanks Beth!! I have really enjoyed all of your blogs. You always give me something to think about that seems practical to my life! I often find myself saying to my kids, “life isn’t fair”, but I often forget to say it to myself.

  2. I think this is probably one of the biggest battles that we as Christians face. At least I know I do. I’m glad we have the Word of God to remind us of who we are in Christ Jesus and that we don’t fight the battle alone.

  3. Thanks for the kind words, Andrea! I struggle with it too–even though I know better.

    And Martha, I wholeheartedly agree. Everyone struggles with the unfairness of life–but we do have one GREAT God!

Leave a Reply

