The Lame Game

No, I didn’t misspell my title.  This post is not about the Blame Game, but rather the Lame Game.  What is the Lame Game, you ask?  It is when you don’t take responsibility for your wrong actions.  You make excuses and run from responsibility.

You might think that it would be very difficult to find an example of the Lame Game in the Bible.  But, I must say, I’m quite proficient at sniffing lame-itude out from miles away.  Usually I find it running amuck in the lives of my teenagers, but this time I was surprised to find it in the book of Exodus chapter 32.

Allow me to set the stage:  Moses, the leader of the Israelites, was a very busy guy in a power meeting with God up on Mt. Sinai.  Meanwhile, the Israelites were down below in the valley wondering what in the world their fearless leader could possibly be doing that was keeping him busy for so long.  I think they looked around and saw nothing but sand dunes and endless horizons, and figured that the God who had brought them there had now decided to ditch them and run off with their missing Moses.  In other words, they were in the market for a new and improved god who they could polish so shiny that they could see themselves in its . . . buttocks? Enter one golden calf and the great lame one, Aaron!

Meanwhile, God informed Moses of the rebellion brewing below, so he headed back down to confront the leader of the hacks.  And this is where Aaron jumped into the perfect Lame Game position:

“‘Don’t get so upset, my lord, . . . You yourself know how evil these people are.  They said to me, Make us gods who will lead us . . . So I told them, Whoever has gold jewelry, take it off.  When they brought it to me, I simply threw it into the fire—and out came this calf!’” vv. 22-24 (NLT)

I laughed out loud when I read that quote.  And my lame-o-meter registered off the charts!  Now I could sound all high and mighty and say that I’ve never said or done anything as lame as Aaron, but then I would not only be lame, but also a liar.  In fact, the reason I’m so adept at identifying lameness is because I’m the queen of lame-itude.

If you’ve followed my posts for any length of time you know that I struggle with fear, and the mantra of most cowards is the ever-elusive excuse.  I don’t want to live that way anymore.  I don’t want to run from responsibility or pain or, even worse, looking foolish.  I want to put the Lame Game back in the box and never open it back up again!

So . . . what excuses are you making today?

  • Need to read your Bible, but think you’re just too busy?
  • Need to look at your part of the problem instead of blaming your spouse, but you think he or she needs to change first?
  • Need to confess that you’ve hurt someone, but you think it will only give him or her ammunition to hurt you back?
  • Need to set a boundary with someone, but you fear his or her rejection?

My advice?  Remember . . .

“Be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 (NLT)

Comments on: "The Lame Game" (1)

  1. You included our “teenagers” and yourself setting off your lam-o-meter, but I didn’t see my name mentioned anywhere. You passed up your most obvious example. Maybe I shouldn’t have said anything … you’re probably working on a 300 page book about me right now! 🙂 Thank you for tolerating me and loving me in spite of it all. I love you.

Leave a Reply

