Hungry for Healing

Do you know the power of confession?  When I was newly married I didn’t.  I thought it was better to hide my mistakes.  Unfortunately, in hiding my mistakes, I hid myself. Over time, a wall began to erect between me and my husband.  I feared even the idea of dropping my guard and being real with him.  I felt that I had to “save face.”  This resulted in more arguments, more alienation and a higher and higher wall.

Long story short, I learned that I had to eat a heaping slice of humble pie on a regular basis.  Don’t get me wrong.  To this day I still struggle with the desire to hide.  And humble pie has only gotten slightly better tasting over the years!  But I know that it’s like much needed medicine for my soul.  It heals me and my relationships.

God has created our hearts and minds with a need to confess.  We not only need to confess our sins and mistakes to others but to God as well.  Ironically, I find that it is often easier to confess my sins to God than to others.  God is a gracious and forgiving God, and I know that He won’t hold my sin over my head or look down on me if I admit my weaknesses.  But people sometimes do.  At least that is what I have told myself.  However, I’ve discovered that when I sincerely confess, I do not face rejection.  In fact, the opposite has occurred.  I’ve been welcomed, embraced and the walls have crumbled down.

Do you feel a wall between yourself and God or yourself and another person?  If you’re hungry for healing, perhaps you simply need to eat a slice of that good ol’ humble pie!  The recipe can be found below:

“Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.  The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results.”  James 5:16 (NLT)

Share

Comments on: "Hungry for Healing" (3)

  1. Too true! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Lisa Wells said:

    i still dont like humble pie… but it sure helps smooth relationships 😉

  3. I know what you mean, jelly bean. Walls are not good. I think we all build them – but if we want real relationship, we have to tear them down.

    And btw – I like the new blog theme! 🙂

Leave a Reply

